The Cíes Islands belong to the National Maritime-Terrestrial Park of the Atlantic Islands of Galicia, they had already been declared a Natural Park in 1980, but without a doubt, despite the importance achieved in Galicia, the greatest recognition has come in the 21st century: in February 2007 the British newspaper The Guardian was seduced by the crystal clear and calm waters, the fine golden sand, and the suggestive crescent shape of Rodas beach to choose it as "the best beach in the world".
Once upon a time, they were a haven for pirates, but they are currently uninhabited.
They are only accessible to the public in summer, and the Cíes Islands can only be accessed by boat. This is how this natural paradise is preserved.
From the Lighthouse you can enjoy an incredible experience: the squawking of the largest colony of seagulls in Europe with the cliffs beneath you.
The rich fauna and flora of this archipelago (there are more than 200 types of algae), and the spectacular nature of its cliffs and dune landscapes, constitute a natural heritage of great value, so we all must take our part to ensure its preservation.
The Citania de Santa Trega is one of the best-preserved citadels in Galicia, in its interior we can find a reliable reconstruction of a military house. From the 1st century BC and 1st century AD has a privileged view of the rivers and valleys that surround it.
The circular houses with a patio are grouped in neighbourhoods of eight houses and paved streets, with a canalization system. It is a Galician-Roman town, 200 meters above sea level, where remains from the Bronze Age and the Galician-Roman culture were found.
In this town, the museum and its collection were declared National Historic-Artistic Monuments in 1931 and 1962, respectively.
It has also been declared a Site of Cultural Interest. The Archaeological Museum of Santa Trega, designed by Antonio Palacios, presents an architecture set to its geographical environment and showcases the classic Galician architecture and its popular houses.
Baiona was the first town to know about the Discovery of America, after it arrived at its port of the Caravel Pinta, which is remembered in March with the Fiesta de la Arribada.
The Historic-Artistic Complex of Baiona is located in the centre of the municipality and occupies an almost closed circle. It has three entrances: through the Plaza de Santa Liberata, through the Plaza del Padre Fernando and from the Cruceiro de la Trinidad.
The cobbled streets of this complex show numerous stately mansions. The Castle of Monte Real from the 10th century is an impressive building located in a strategic hill area surrounded by a beautiful landscape.
Two periods are evident in their structure: the medieval period and the period from the Renaissance to the 18th century. It is now the Conde de Gondomar National Tourism Parador.
The Soutomaior Castle, the exact date of its construction is unknown, but its foundation must be linked to Don Méndez Sorrede, who lived in the times of Alfonso VII (1126-1157) and Don Fernando de León (1157-1188), and who was the first to use the surname Sotomayor.
The castle of Soutomaior is one of the best-preserved in all of Galicia and perhaps the best known.
In 1982, the castle passed into the hands of the Pontevedra Provincial Council, which commissioned a team of experts to restore the complex.
In its gardens, we can find a very unique botanical ensemble made up of hydrangeas, camellias and chestnut trees that are over 800 years old.
Pontevedra is a noble town where we can find various unique buildings that represent the history of the city.
The historical complex of the city is framed within the walled enclosure. You have to discover the old town as you go by, paying attention to the names of the streets and the unique spaces between popular and ancestry houses.
Some of the monuments that stand out are the ruins of the Convent of Santo Domingo (13th century), which is part of the Provincial Museum; the conventual churches of San Francisco (13th-14th centuries), Santa Clara and San Bartolomé; the Iglesia de la Peregrina, with a chapel from 1778 related to the Portuguese way to Santiago de Compostela and the Convent of Santa Clara and San Francisco from the mid-14th century. Squares such as Herrería, Leña, Teucro, Verdura. Mugartegui, Pedreira or Cinco Calles. Basilica de Santa María la Mayor, from the 14th century, where the plateresque façade of excellent carving stands out was ordered to be built by the old Seafarers' Guild in the 15th century.
For more information: turismoriasbaixas.com